85th Jefferson Dad Vail Regatta Program Guide

Completed over two years, the end result is a facility that ranks among the best in the nation. While COVID cancelled Myhr’s first spring racing season and severely limited the entire 2020-21 year, the program has steadily grown in size and talent. As Myhr’s message continues to gain traction in recruiting circles, Marietta is slowly climbing the standings toward the ultimate goal of returning to the Dad Vail medal platform. Myhr started his coaching career as the assistant men’s coach at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. He served as an assistant for two years before taking over as the head freshman coach in 1997. The Badgers captured five Ten Eyck Team National Championships, three Intercollegiate Rowing Association (IRA) Freshmen Four titles, and the 2000 Eastern Association of Rowing Colleges (EARC) Freshmen Eight Championship. After a three-year stint as the freshman heavyweight coach at Georgetown, Myhr was named the head coach at George Washington in 2005. He moved to the University of Pennsylvania as the Quakers’ men’s heavyweight coach in 2009. Penn finished 10th overall in the Ten Eyck team points standings at the 2015 IRA Regatta, highlighted by an 11th-place finish in the Varsity Eight to match the school's previous best that was achieved in 2012. The Quakers also earned the Clayton Chapman Team Trophy at the IRAs, recognizing the nation's most improved team. Myhr spent two years as an assistant coach at St. Joseph’s University and two years as the head coach for the Cambridge Boat Club before taking the job at Marietta. Award History The Matt Ledwith Award is presented annually to a Dad Vail Coach who has a distinguished record of accomplishment and who personifies character traits worthy of emulation in a quest to encourage student athletes to uphold the highest traditions and practices. PAST AWARD WINNERS 1994 - Ralph Lindamood - Marietta 1995 - Tom Delany - Manhattan 1996 - Gavin White - Temple 1997 - Dennis Kamrad - Central FL 1998 - Bob Spousta - George Mason 1999 - Ted Bonnano - Fordham 2000 - Robert Espeseth - UT/Chattanoga 2001 - Jill Cooper - Minnesota U 2002 - John Bancheri - Marietta VG-V’ 2003 - Dave Kucik - Purdue 2004 - Rick Smith - NY Maritime 2005 - Casey Baker - Florida Tech 2006 - Chuck Crawford - U Delaware 2007 - Jennifer Sanford - U Conn 2008 - Gil Birney - Bowdin 2009 - Steve Perry - Johns Hopkins 2010 - Rob Canavan - Georgia Tech 2011 - Charlie DiSilvestro - Drake U 2012 - Gerry Quinlin - St. Joseph’s 2013 - Greg Hartsuff - U of Michigan 2014 - Dr. Gavin R. White - Temple 2015 - Paul Savell - Drexel 2016 - Jim Dietz - UMASS 2017 - Frank Biller - University of Virginia 2018 - Dr. Eugena Kiesling - United States Military Academy at West Point 2019 - Steven Kish - Bucknell 2022 - Brian Perkins - Temple 2023 - John Bancheri - Stockton