85th Jefferson Dad Vail Regatta Program Guide

In Recognition Teamwork, discipline, determination, and camaraderie are the words that define James R. Hanna’s (“Jim”) approach to life and especially to the sport of rowing. From the first time Jim picked up an oar in 1963 he exemplified the true oarsman, and for the past 48 years he has continued the tradition with his dedication to the Dad Vail Regatta. Jim began his service in the finish line tower in 1975 but his most significant contributions came during his tenor as President from 2003 to 2024. Through his diligence and leadership, the Dad Vail Regatta became a premier collegiate event and time-honored tradition. Jim’s approach and dedication to rowing has inspired countless rowers and volunteers to follow his example of teamwork both on and off the water. For this reason, the Dad Vail Regatta Organizing Committee would like to thank and recognize Jim by renaming the Men’s Varsity 8 trophy the O’Brien-Hanna Trophy. James R. Hanna John R. Galloway, (“Jack”) opened rowing competition for women by providing a warm welcome to the Dad Vail, has fostered independent sponsorships to augment entry fees for the purpose of staging the most professional rowing event collegians might experience in North America and has exemplified the highest standards of voluntary leadership culminating in producing the opportunity for literally tens of thousands of student athletes to test their mettle in the course and achieving their personal best. The Dad Vail Regatta Organizing Committee is grateful to have had Jack serve as President from 1977 to 2001 before being elected to serve as Chairman of the Board, a position he continues to hold even to the present day establishing a record of service now approaching fifty years. For these many reasons, the Dad Vail Regatta Organizing Committee would like to thank and recognize Jack by renaming the Overall Point Trophy the Bratton-Galloway Trophy. John R. Galloway