84th Annual Jefferson Dad Vail Regatta Program Book

For his success, the Dad Vail Regatta Organizing Committee (DVROC), organizers of the prestigious Jefferson Dad Vail Regatta, most recently presented by Independence Blue Cross, Coca-Cola and PECO are pleased to award John Bancheri with the Matt Ledwith Award (Coach of the Year). “Any recognition by my colleagues is special,” said Bancheri, in a recent interview regarding this award. “The consideration alone is a great honor for me and everyone on my coaching tree. As you know the Dad Vail is a storied regatta. To be part of the story means a lot to all of us involved in the sport.” At Marietta, his teams captured the Bronze Medal in the Men’s Varsity Heavyweight Eight in 1998, 2002, 2003, 2004, and 2005. In 2002 his Men’s JV Heavyweight Eight took home the gold medal while his Men’s Frosh Heavyweight Eight captured gold in 1999, 2001, 2002 and 2004. At Grand Valley State, Bancheri watched his crew capture the Women’s Heavyweight Eight in 2009 and 2013 while also taking home the Jack & Nancy Seitz Trophy (Women’s Total Point Champions). He also coached the men's team to Varsity Four and JV Eight gold medals. Along with a string of finalists in the Men's Varsity Eight. Bancheri would come home to finish his coaching career landing at Stockton University in 2019 where he helped lead the Osprey women to success including the Jefferson Dad Vail Regatta. At the Vail, Stockton would earn bronze in the Women’s DII Varsity Heavyweight Eight in 2019 before returning in 2021 to win gold in the same event. The event was not held in 2020 due to the Coronavirus Pandemic. Bancheri would retire at the end of the 2022 season and conclude his storied career where it began almost three decades earlier in his hometown of Atlantic City, New Jersey. Award History The Matt Ledwith Award is presented annually to a Dad Vail Coach who has a distinguished record of accomplishment and who personifies character traits worthy of emulation in a quest to encourage student athletes to uphold the highest traditions and practices. PAST AWARD WINNERS 1994 - Ralph Lindamood - Marietta 1995 - Tom Delany - Manhattan 1996 - Gavin White - Temple 1997 - Dennis Kamrad - Central FL 1998 - Bob Spousta - George Mason 1999 - Ted Bonnano - Fordham 2000 - Robert Espeseth - UT/Chattanoga 2001 - Jill Cooper - Minnesota U 2002 - John Bancheri - Marietta VG-V’ 2003 - Dave Kucik - Purdue 2004 - Rick Smith - NY Maritime 2005 - Casey Baker - Florida Tech 2006 - Chuck Crawford - U Delaware 2007 - Jennifer Sanford - U Conn 2008 - Gil Birney - Bowdin 2009 - Steve Perry - Johns Hopkins 2010 - Rob Canavan - Georgia Tech 2011 - Charlie DiSilvestro - Drake U 2012 - Gerry Quinlin - St. Joseph’s 2013 - Greg Hartsuff - U of Michigan 2014 - Dr. Gavin R. White - Temple 2015 - Paul Savell - Drexel 2016 - Jim Dietz - UMASS 2017 - Frank Biller - University of Virginia 2018 - Dr. Eugena Kiesling - United States Military Academy at West Point 2019 - Steven Kish - Bucknell 2022 - Brian Perkins - Temple